Get connected

You are here:

You are here


2022 IIRSM Risk Excellence Awards winners announced

After months of waiting in anticipation, last night (19 May) we found out who were the winners and highly commended finalists in the 2022 IIRSM Risk Excellence Awards.

From a highly competitive, global list of entries, they were 


Barry Holt Award - Outstanding Risk Management Practice

Winner - Enerjisa Enerji Uretim A.S, Turkey

Highly Commended - Etihad Aviation Group, UAE


International Risk Initiative of the Year

Winner - VMWare, Ireland


SME Risk Initiative of the Year

Winner - Healthcare RM, UK


John Bennett Award - Exceptional Young Person of the Year

Winner - James Wilson, UK

Highly Commended - Mohit Sharma, India


Mentor of the Year

Winner - Hugh Maxwell, UK

Highly Commended - John Nelson, UK


Technology Risk Management Risk Initiative of the Year

Winner - Healthcare RM, UK 

Highly Commended - Proactive and Howden, UK


Health and Wellbeing Strategy of the Year

Winner - Healthcare RM, UK


Risk Team of the Year

Winner - DFDS Seaways Immingham, UK


IIRSM's President's Commendation

Winner - Edward Debrah, Ghana


IIRSM Co-Presidents Ruth Denyer and Callum Irvine opened the virtual ceremony. 

Ruth said: “We risk management professionals are good at interrogating where things have gone wrong so we can learn the lessons.

“But we also know we improve by highlighting the successes - the moments of genius, those stand-out practitioners, the high-performing teams - and making sure that we learn from them too.”

Callum said: “Since we last met for the Risk Excellence Awards, IIRSM and its members have been working tirelessly with organisations to manage unprecedented change. From Covid to the war in Ukraine, we’ve been dealing with the impact of events out of our control. 

“But we think this is where our profession has excelled and shown its value. By bringing clarity where there’s uncertainty. It’s this clarity with risk that helps organisations make decisions about how they can respond.”

The Awards, hosted by Sam McAlister, were sponsored by Cardinus Risk Management Ltd (headline sponsor), supporting sponsors AvettaSureteam Limited and Yondr Group, and category sponsors Barnett Waddingham, Healthcare RM, The HSE Recruitment Network and Workplace Options.

Entries for the 2023 IIRSM Risk Excellence Awards will open on 01 October.


to news