Get connected

You are here:

You are here


Winners announced for IIRSM’s Risk Excellence Awards 2019

The International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) announced the winners of its 2019 Risk Excellence Awards which recognise achievements in risk management from protecting profits and reputation, to more importantly people.   

Entries were submitted from across the globe by organisations of all sizes and sectors including central government, conservation, construction, insurance, media & entertainment, regulatory, technology, travel and more.   

The highly commended and winners for the eight categories are as follows:




The Barry Holt Award for Outstanding Risk Practice

Joint winner - Health & Safety Team, The Zoological

Society of London

Joint winner - Risk Team, ITV

International Risk Initiative of the Year

Winner - Rentokil Initial

Highly Commended - Multiplex Middle East

The John Bennett Award for Exceptional Young Person of the Year

Winner - Dean Adams, Glidepath Limited

Highly Commended – Aaron Lazenby, Maylim

Health & Wellbeing Strategy of the Year

Winner - Royal Mail Group

SME Risk Initiative of the Year

Winner – Quality Care Insurance Services Ltd

Mentor of the Year

Winner - Hugh Maxwell of ESAB

Change Programme of the Year


Highly Commended - Abu Dhabi Occupational Safety and

Health Centre (OSHAD) 

Winner - Royal Mail Group

President’s Commendation

Winner – Teresa Budworth, previous CEO of NEBOSH

The Risk Excellence Awards took place on Wednesday 22 May at Church House, Westminster, London. The ceremony was hosted by Dr. Steve Cross, who is a comedian and the founder of the International Academic Comedy Network, Bright Club. Steve makes clever people funny for a living, and has turned scientists into TV and radio presenters, comedians and performers. 

Andy Hawkes, IIRSM President said “Another fantastic evening at this year’s IIRSM Risk Excellence Awards to celebrate the brilliant work that our members and the wider risk profession do every day. Congratulations to all winners and finalists.”

IIRSM would like to thank its headline sponsors Zurich Risk Engineering and Cardinus Risk Management, and its supporting sponsors HSE Recruitment Network, healthcare rm, Landsec, and Multiplex.

The 2020 awards are open for entries on 1 October 2019 and the awards ceremony and dinner will take place in London on 14 May 2020. 


to news