Get connected

You are here:

You are here

IIRSM Award Winners 2021

Headline sponsor

Congratulations to our winners, those highly commended and all our finalists.

Read and hear from our 2021 award winners here.

We enjoyed a fantastic virtual awards ceremony on 20 May and were delighted to watch as our winners were announced live.It's been an exceptionally difficult time for us all due to Covid-19, therefore it was all the more pleasing to see and celebrate the achievements and hard work of all our amazing finalists, and in particular our winners. The judges had a difficult task this year and would like to congratulate everyone as the submissions were of exceptional quality.  

We had hundreds watching from their homes and offices around the world, and were entertained by World and European relay champion Derek Redmond who also hosted the awards. Derek shared some insights from his training days that were highly relevant to be able to manage risk well by adapting to change.          

You can watch the entire awards ceremony here.                                              

Andy Hawkes, CEO of Cardinus Risk Management, the awards headline sponsor said “After a challenging year, the risk management profession has really shown what it is capable of. Whether working from home or out and about under COVID-controls, the profession has risen to meet difficult circumstances. We are incredibly proud to support the IIRSM Awards, which continue to showcase the best of the best in risk management."                        

Our winners

Barry Holt Award for Outstanding Risk Management Practice


Winner - FCC Environment

Highly Commended - Howdens Joinery


International Risk Initiative of the Year


Winner - Cardinus Risk Management

Highly Commended - Dr Sam De Silva, Partner at International Law Firm CMS

Highly Commended - Safe 365


John Bennett Award for Exceptional Young Person of the Year


Winner - Chloe Stuttard, LV=Financial Services


Health and Wellbeing Strategy of the Year


Winner - EMCOR UK Wellbeing Team

Highly Commended - Construction Industry Federation Safety and Health Sub Committee


SME Risk Initiative of the Year


Winner - Safe 365


Mentor of the Year


Winner - Tony Hayward

Highly Commended - John Nelson


Technology Risk Management Initiative of the Year 


Winner - Safe 365

Highly Commended - Ardent Hire Solutions


Change Programme of the Year


Winner - Dempsey Wood Civil Ltd

Highly Commended - Construction Industry Federation


Risk Team of the Year


Winner - BOHS Covid-19 Expert Group

Highly Commended - Technip Energies Safety Team


IIRSM's President's Commendation


Winner - Karla Gahan, Senior Manager at Barnett Waddingham

Winner - Paul Stokes, Head of SHEQ at FCC Environment


Our supporting sponsors

Headline sponsor

Supporting sponsors